AMENDMENT 2

VETERANS DisaBLED DUE TO
ComBAT RELATED INJURY HOMESTEAD
ProPERTY TAx DiscounT

Current law permits veterans age 65 and older with a combat related disability to receive a discount on their ad valorem taxes equal

to the percentage of their combat related lisability. The amendment as originally passed req
resident at the time of entering military service. This amendment will expand the availabi
homesteads of veterans who became disabled as the result of a combat related injury f
residents when they entered military service. The amendment will take effect January 1, 20

uired the veteran to have been a Florida
ity of the property tax discount on the
o include those who were not Florida
13,

T

AMENDMENT 4

This amendment has three parts

PROPERTY TAX LIMITATIONS;
PROPERTY VALUE DECLINE;
RebuctioN For NoN-HOMEASTEAD
ASSESSMENT INCREASES;

DEeLAY OF SCHEDULED RePEAL

Under current law, except for changes, aLditions, reductions, or improvements to homest
required to increase the assessed value of,!a homestead or specified non-homestead propert
declines, as long as the market value is greater than the assessed value. This amendment rep
recapture rule and would prohibit increasin%the assessed value of a homestead or specified no
of the property is less than the market value of the property on the preceding January
January 1, 2013.

Currently, there is a 10% cap on annual incH‘eases in the assessed value of specified non-homes
the market value of a specified non-homestead property increases, its assessed value can
amendment would reduce the 10% cap to 5%. This amendment would also delay until 2023 th
repeal in 2019. It will permit the Legislature/ to place the issue before the voters in 2022.

pad properties; Property Appraiser’s are
even when the property’s market value
eals what is commonly referred to as the
n-homestead property if the market value
1. The amendment will take effect on

tead properties. Regardless of how much
not be increased more than 10%. This
e repeal of the current law scheduled for

|

[

This amendment also authorizes the Legislfture, by general law, to provide an additional homestead exemption to every person who

establishes the right to receive the homestead exemption provided in the Florida constitu
homestead property, and who has not owned a property in the prior 3 calendar years to which t
The additional homestead exemption shall apply to all levies except school district levies. The

to 50% of the homestead property’s market value, as established by the Property Appraiser, a
was established. The additional homestead| exemption may not exceed an amount equal to th
property within the county for the calendar year immediately preceding January 1 of the

additional homestead exemption shall apply for the shorter of 5 years or the year of sale of the

after January 1, 2012. The amendment is effective January 1, 2013.

tion within 1 year after purchasing the
he Florida homestead exemption applied.
additional exemption is an amount equal
5 of January 1 of the year the homestead
e median market value of all homestead
year the homestead is established. The
property. Applies to property purchased




CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS CONTINUED...

AMENDMENT 9 - HoMESTEAD PrROPERTY Thx EXEMPTION FOR SURVIVING SPOUSE OF
MILITARY VETERAN OR FIRST RESPONDER

This amendment will authorize the Legislature to provide by general law ad valorem
homestead property tax relief to the survivi g spouse of a military veteran who died from
service-connected causes while on active duty or to the surviving spouse of a first responder
who died in the line of duty. The amendment authorizes the Legislature to totally exempt or
partially exempt such surviving spouse’s homestead property from ad valorem taxation.
The amendment defines a first responder as a law enforcement officer, a correctional
officer, a firefighter, and emergency medical technician, or a paramedic. This amendment

shall take effect January 1, 2013, The Legisl
language.

ature has already adopted the implementing

AMENDMENT 10 - TANGIBLE PERSONAL PIl(OPERTY TAX EXEMPTION

This amendment provides an additional $25,000 exemption from ad valorem taxes levied by

counties, municipalities, school districts, and
property. The current exemption is $25,000.
This amendment is effective January 1, 2013.

other local governments on tangible personal
| This will increase the exemption to $50,000.
jThis amendment also authorizes counties and

municipalities, if authorized by general law, fo grant additional tangible personal property

tax exemptions by ordinance.

AMENDMENT 11 - AppiTioNAL HOMESTEA

D ExempTiON; Low-INCOME SENIORS WHO

MAINTAIN LONG-TERM RESIDENCY ON PROPERTY; EQUAL TO AssESSED VALUE

Authorizes the Legislature, by general law, t¢
additional homestead tax exemption equal t
if the property has a market value less t
permanent residency on the property for ng

> allow counties and municipalities to grant an
o the assessed value of a homestead property
han $250,000; if an owner has maintained
t less than 25 years; has reached age 65; and,

has a low household income. Exemption must be authorized by a county or municipality and

will apply only to those tax levies.
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