
                         
                            

D  E  T  E  C  T  I  V  E  S     C  O  R  N  E  R 

 

MISSING PERSON INVESTIGATIONS 

Although being a “Missing Person” is not a crime, law enforcement agencies become involved in missing person 

investigations quite often. In larger departments, there are detectives assigned to do nothing but missing person 

investigations. Sometimes the missing person may be determined to have been kidnapped or abducted, and in some 

cases, murdered. In those cases, the “missing person” case turns into a criminal matter and investigators from the 

homicide division take over the investigation. 

F.S. 937 

Florida Statue 937 entitled ‘Missing Person Investigations’ requires that every law enforcement agency within the state 

formulate and enact a departmental policy for the handling of missing person reports and investigations. This statute 

states, in part; “  

937.021  Missing child and missing adult reports.--  

(1)  Law enforcement agencies in this state shall adopt written policies that specify the procedures to be used to 
investigate reports of missing children and missing adults. The policies must ensure that cases involving missing children 
and adults are investigated promptly using appropriate resources.  

The Atlantis Police Department has established such a policy under General Order lll-22. The policy is 12 pages in length 
and outlines the manner in which all missing person cases are handled in the city. 

CLASSIFICATION OF MISSING PERSONS 

When a person is reported to a law enforcement agency as a missing person, the officer assigned to take the report 
must determine the classification under which the report will be filed. This is necessary for entering the person into 
FCIC/NCIC databases (Florida Crime Information Center, National Crime Information Center).  

There are several classifications of missing persons.  A person could be Missing Under Unusual Circumstances, Missing 
and Endangered, or Involuntarily Missing. An adult who does not come home from work on time is not considered a 
Missing Person. In some cases, a law enforcement officer may take an “Attempt To Locate” report on such an adult, but 
this person would not be entered into FCIC/NCIC as a missing person. 

 



AMBER ALERT PLAN            

In order for a child to be entered into “Florida’s  Amber Alert Plan”  the following criteria must be met;  1) The child must 
be in danger of serious bodily harm or death, 2) under the age of 18 years, 3) there must be enough descriptive 
information to believe that an Amber Alert broadcast would be helpful in locating the child, 4) a clear indication of an 
abduction 5) must be requested by the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction in the case. 

SILVER ALERT PLAN 

The standardized criteria for the Florida Silver Alert Plan are as follows: 

1. Missing person must be 60 years or older and there must be a clear indication that the      
individual has an irreversible deterioration of intellectual faculties (i.e., dementia).  This must be verified by law                

enforcement     or; 

2. under extraordinary circumstances when a person age 18 to 59 has irreversible deterioration of intellectual 

faculties  and law enforcement has determined the missing  person lacks the capacity to consent, and that the 

use of dynamic message signs may be the  only possible way to rescue the missing person. 

The primary criteria for FDOT/FHP/FDLE dynamic message sign activation, in which all criteria must be met, in addition 

to the above are: 

o Local law enforcement has already activated a local or regional alert by contacting media 
    outlet in theirs and/or surrounding jurisdictions; 

o The law enforcement agency’s investigation must conclude that the disappearance poses a 
    credible threat to the person’s welfare and safety; 

o There must be a description of the vehicle, and a tag number to display on the Florida 
    Department of Transportation dynamic message signs; 

o Local law enforcement must verify vehicle and tag information; 
o Local law enforcement agency must have entered the missing person into the Florida Crime 

            Information Center and issued a statewide BOLO to other law enforcement/911 centers. 

OTHER INVESTIGATIVE REQUIREMENTS OF F.S. 937 

In addition to the statutory requirement that all law enforcement agencies establish a policy for the investigation of 

missing persons, there are additional statutory requirements that law enforcement must follow.  Florida Statute 937.031 

requires law enforcement to request written consent for dental records from the family or next of kin of a missing 

person who has not been located within 30 days. Additionally, F.S. 937.021(6) requires law enforcement to attempt to 

obtain a biological specimen for DNA analysis if the missing person is not located within 90 days. 

IN CONCLUSION… 

Most missing persons are found within a few hours of the time they are reported missing. When they can’t be located 

quickly, missing person cases can be time consuming and tedious investigations. Due to statutory requirements they can 

also be costly.   



Families with children should consider participating in a Child Identification Program such as was offered by the Atlantis 

Police Department and the Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office during Fall Festival 2009 at Kintz Park. Families with adults 

who tend to “wander off “ from home or who are suffering for dementia and would be unable to communicate with law 

enforcement or others, should they become lost and in need of assistance, should consider having their family member 

wear an ID bracelet or necklace with their name a contact telephone number. 

Should you have any questions about missing person’s investigations, feel free to contact myself or any other Atlantis 

Police Officer.  

 

Sincerely,                                                   

Det. Marvin Jenne  

 

DET. MARVIN JENNE, ID #400                         

ATLANTIS POLICE DEPARTMENT 

 

                                


